29 April —10 May 2019


Opening Concert
Bach-Tchaikovsky Concertante

State Orchestra “Academy of Soloists“ (Kazakhstan)

Gianluca Marciano conductor

Haik Kazazyan violin

Katya Tsukanova violin




Gianluca Marcianò


Italian conductor Gianluca Marcianò has been increasingly in demand since his operatic debut with Croatian National Opera in 2007. Praised in the Sunday Times for his “unfailingly theatrical and idiomatic conducting”, Marcianò has strong ties with the opera houses in Oviedo, Minsk, Tbilisi and Yerevan, and within the UK, English National Opera, Grange Park Opera, Longborough Opera and the English Chamber Orchestra.

  • Read more ↓

    Marcianò is currently Principal Conductor of the Serbian National Theatre in Novi Sad, Serbia. He is also Artistic Director of the Al Bustan Festival in Beirut, where he has conducted works including Cherubini's Médée, Rossini's Stabat Mater and Berlioz' La Mort de Cléopâtre. He is also founder and Artistic Director of the Festival Suoni dal Golfo in Lerici and Principal Guest Conductor of the National Academic Bolshoi Theatre of Belarus.

    Other recent engagements include Turandot and Nabucco for Ópera de Oviedo; La traviata, Madama Butterfly and La bohème for the Lithuanian National Opera; Tosca for Grange Park Opera; Nabucco for the Chelsea Opera Group; Elgar’s Symphony No. 1 in Tokyo; Pagliacci in Moscow and Ernani and La traviata for Lithuanian National Opera.

Haik Kazazyan


Violinist Haik Kazazyan has performed with orchestras such as Orchestra of The Mariinsky Theater, Orchestre National de France, Scottish Royal National Orchestra, Russian National Orchestra, Moscow Philharmonic Orchestra under the baton of Yu. Simonov, Moscow Symphony Orchestra named after E. Svetlanov, Moscow State Symphony Orchestra under P. Kogan, Prague Philharmonic orchestra, Dublin National Orchestra, Kaunas City Symphony Orchestra, Poznan Philharmonic Orchestra, Katowice Radio Symphony Orchestra, Munich Chamber Orchestra, Moscow Chamber Orchestra, ‘Musica Viva’ Orchestra, S.Petersburg, Ekaterinburg, Kazan, Samara Symphony Orchestras and many others.


Johann Sebastian Bach


Concerto for 2 Violins in D minor, BWV 1043


Pjotr Iljitsch Tschaikowski


Sérénade mélancolique, Op 26

Allegro ma non tanto in G major

Serenade for strings op 48

Katya Tsukanova


Katya was born in London to Russian parents in 2002. She started learning violin and piano at the age of 5. At the age of 9, Katya was accepted to the Royal College of Music (RCM) Junior Department.

State Orchestra
“Academy of Soloists“

State Orchestra "Academy of Soloists" is a leading musical group of the Republic of Kazakhstan, created in 1991 on the initiative of the world famous violinist, Artistic Director of the orchestra, the People's Artist of the Republic of Kazakhstan, Hero of Labour of Kazakhstan, winner of State awards, winner of International Competitions, Professor, rector of the Kazakh National University of Arts Ayman Mussakhajayeva. The principal conductor of the orchestra is the Honored worker of the Republic of Kazakhstan Bakhytzhan Mussakhajayeva.

Tickets & Info

Tel.: +356 2787 7705

Еuropean Foundation
for Support of Culture

6, Westin Dragonara Resort,
Dragonara Road,
St Julians, STJ 3143
Republic of Malta.

Email: info@eufsc.eu
Web: www.eufsc.eu

Organized by:

© Malta International Music Festival

Copyright notices

The content and programs on this website are copyrighted. All rights are reserved to European Foundation for Support of Culture. Parts of this site may contain images, texts or sounds that are subject to the copyright of third parties. The copyright notices in these cases are noted in appropriate places. Information on this website, including text, images and sound, may not be copied, transferred, distributed or stored without the written permission of the publisher. This applies equally to all the contents created by European Foundation for Support of Culture. Modifications of the contents of this website is expressly prohibited.

By downloading our content, the user agrees to the terms contained on the pages. Violations of these provisions will be prosecuted by us.